DermaScar Review: DermaScar – How it Worked for Me!

If you’ve ever had damage to your skin that’s caused a scar, you might know how much this can affect your confidence.

This DermaScar review is kindly sponsored by DermaScar. Affiliate links below to purchase it.

For me, it’s a scar on my chest. Last year, I underwent chemotherapy for breast cancer treatment. It was a gruelling six month course of treatment that was administered through a portacath on my chest.

I both loved and hated that port in equal measures. I was grateful for the opportunity to undergo treatment that would hopefully save, or at least prolong, my life. But I hated how the port felt and looked. Seven months after treatment was complete, I decided to get it removed.

Mim Jenkinson

I was so happy to be rid of it and felt like I could start to move on with my life without having a permanent reminder of that awful chemo strapped to my chest. People would stare at it, it was pretty unsightly and it made sleep very uncomfortable too.

Then, unfortunately, a few weeks after the scar had healed, it turned into a keloid scar. Now, 11 months since it came out, the scar is about two inches long, bright red and raised. Whilst it’s not uncomfortable like the port was, it’s unsightly. People stare at it and even doctors ask me if that’s where the cancer was. It’s way above my boob – um, no!

So as much as I’m grateful to be healthy and here, the scar really affects my confidence.

A Dermatologist gave me a cortisone injection to try to flatten it but unfortunately, it made it worse. It was even more raised and red than before. He advised me to get a silicone scar gel but didn’t have any suggestions on the best scar removal cream or gel.

Then I remembered that in one of my recent BellaBoxes, I had received a DermaScar silicone gel. I looked up online and read many great DermaScar reviews.

Interested in trying DermaScar? You can buy it now here.

You can also purchase it on Amazon Australia here or .

DermaScar Review

Scars can form for many different reasons – and they are part of the body’s normal healing process. Most of us have at least one scar somewhere. Perhaps after surgery, chicken pox, an accident or stretchmarks from pregnancies.

DermaScar is a topical silicone gel for scars that is clinically proven to lighten, soften and flatten scars. It improves the long-term appearance of scars and helps to relieve itching, pain and discomfort associated with scars.

My surgeon and dermatologist both recommended that I try a silicone gel and I’ve now been using this religiously for two weeks.

My DermaScar Review

Does scar gel work?

It’s making a difference!

My scar is definitely a little less red and a little flatter than before. The gel is very easy to apply – I just rub a very small amount into the scar after my morning shower and then again before bed.

If I could turn back the clock, I would have started to use this as soon as the original scar had healed as it can also prevent keloid scars from forming in the first place.

DermaScar silicone gel is clear, odourless and dries quickly and I keep it in my bathroom to remind me to use it every day. It’s the best scar gel I’ve tried so far and I’m excited to see the results.

In the past two years, I’ve gained a new perspective on what is important and what isn’t. I’m certainly not as vain as I once was – losing my hair overnight kind of forced me to “get real” quickly. That said though, I have been finding it hard to move on when I have a permanent reminder on my chest. Yes, in the grand scheme of things, it’s a small scar and I could have come off a lot worse.

Reducing the look and feel of my scar will heal my mind more than my body. It will give me a bit more peace and confidence and I need that.

You can find out if DermaScar works for you by buying it now here.

You can find out more about how DermaScar Ultra Plus C&E works here and purchase it here in Australia on Amazon or rest of world.

I hope this Derma Scar review has helped you. Have you tried any scar treatment products?

Read next:

*** Giveaway Closed ***

And the winner is…Jessica!

I’ve teamed up with DermaScar to give away two DermaScar Ultra Plus C&E worth $39.95 each. It’s their best silicone gel for scars and you can keep one and give one to a friend!

As well as that, DermaScar will also treat the winner to a $50 Westfield Gift Card so that you can treat yourself to something lovely this Christmas!

To apply, simply:

  1. Complete the Rafflecopter below.
  2. Like the Love from Mim Facebook Page.
  3. Like the DermaScar Facebook Page.
  4. Follow me on Instagram.
  5. Follow DermaScar on Instagram.
  6. Tell me What is your best tip for improving self-esteem and confidence? Scroll to the bottom of this page to where it says Leave a Reply.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Click here to see my other giveaways!

Terms and Conditions

  1. Open to Australian residents only.
  2. Giveaway closes on November 24th 2017.
  3. I will announce the winner here after November 25th 2017.
  4. Game of skill – be original or creative in your answer!

PIN THIS POST:

DermaScar Review - How to get rid of a scar - Love from Mim

Disclosure: this DermaScar gel review is sponsored by DermaScar. Let me know if you try DermaScar as a keloid or acne scar cream? This post contains affiliate links meaning if you click through and make a purchase, I will receive a small commission. This does not affect the price you pay. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Follow:
Mim

I hope you enjoyed reading this post! Please feel free to comment below, I love hearing from you :)

Find me on: Web | Twitter | Facebook

95 Comments

  1. Mikaela C
    24th November 2017 / 10:24 pm

    trying to see the funny things in life instead of focusing on the negative

  2. Jo
    24th November 2017 / 10:02 pm

    Life is what it is… it’s not against you it’s just life, the sooner you embrace the good and the bad the sooner you start living!

  3. Laura Scriven
    24th November 2017 / 2:46 pm

    Be active every day,
    The positive vibes will be released they say!
    Always happy and confident after it,
    It’s a mood hit.

  4. Aniko.
    24th November 2017 / 12:55 pm

    Stay positive and believe in yourself no matter what, stay strong ,you can overcome anything. If someone puts you down, don’t listen. Chances are they are struggling with there own insecurities.

  5. Aniko.
    24th November 2017 / 12:47 pm

    Stay positive and believe in yourself no matter what, stay strong, you can overcome anything. If someone puts you down don’t take to heart, chances are they are also struggling with own insecurities.

  6. Jacoba Evans
    24th November 2017 / 11:12 am

    Believe in yourself,
    Tell yourself that you are worth the effort.
    You can do it.
    Don’t give up.

  7. Dereena B
    24th November 2017 / 12:52 am

    To improve your self esteem and confidence I think you should learn to ignore what other people say and be comfortable in your own skin. You could do this by simply waking up in the morning and looking in the mirror and saying you’re worth it. These minor positive self affirmations really helped me to improve my self esteem and confidence. :)

  8. Janise Roberts
    23rd November 2017 / 10:04 pm

    I was burnt in house fire while 30 weeks pregnant35%full thickness burns baby was fine but learnt lots about myself turned to natural medicine,for pain relief,now have high pain tolerance, when I fractured three bones in lower spine just arrive home from 12 months in hospital

  9. Becky Downey
    23rd November 2017 / 9:53 pm

    If I have to do something difficult, I lie down and run through it in my mind first. What I’m going to do, say…. and then I feel prepared!

  10. Belinda B.
    23rd November 2017 / 9:49 pm

    Be comfortable in your own skin scars and all. People will judge, haters will hate, even if you’re a super model! If I begin to focus on my flaws I think of Turia Pitt, she is a beautiful woman who has overcome physical disfigurement and when I look at her I see Turia a successful, inspiring and confident woman! that makes my wrinkles, odd shaped ear and other confidence zapping flaws pale into comparison! self esteem and confidence have to come from within by finding inner peace, you cant buy it in a jar!

  11. Alicia Bardsley
    23rd November 2017 / 9:09 pm

    Spending time with loved ones that make you happy. A smile always makes me feel better

  12. Sarah White
    23rd November 2017 / 6:06 pm

    My grandmother used to say beauty comes from within. No matter what your flaws are if you are peaceful inside then your true beauty will shine. I live by those wise words which gives me confidence to take on the world. Surround yourself with happiness and positive people, and always help others.

  13. Kelly Ryan
    23rd November 2017 / 5:55 pm

    Put yourself out there and try to make someone’s day, it has a great snowball effect!

  14. Emily
    23rd November 2017 / 4:30 pm

    Getting outdoors and some sunshine always makes me feel good! And if that doesn’t work, cuddle the dog.

  15. Skye Danaher
    23rd November 2017 / 2:38 pm

    Always wear something that makes you feel good and put the time in to style your hair the way you love it :)

  16. Lisa
    23rd November 2017 / 12:48 pm

    Do whatever the hell you want! Don’t listen to people that tell you it’s too OTT to wear red lipstick to grocery shop or your hair colour is too “out there”. Are you happy doing it? Then do it

  17. Becky Callum
    22nd November 2017 / 12:40 pm

    I find its the little things that make all the difference. Make your bed first thing in the morning and brush your teeth. Already you have accomplished something and you smell good too.

  18. Rachel K
    22nd November 2017 / 3:21 am

    My Mother used to nag at me to sit up straight and smile. She said the way you carry yourself has more of an impact on how you look and feel about yourself than any fashion item or trick for applying makeup.

  19. Anna Margaret
    20th November 2017 / 12:45 pm

    Getting older! The older I get, the less flying f*cks are given.

  20. Lauren Young
    20th November 2017 / 3:12 am

    Be more empathetic. It might seem simple, but understanding others by stepping into their shoes (no matter how horrible they might be!) is a great way to understand others, and, in turn, yourself.

  21. jocy
    19th November 2017 / 8:57 pm

    Changing your self talk so you are not always putting yourself down was what worked for me – but it took a bit of effort

  22. andie harrie
    19th November 2017 / 12:19 pm

    being thankful for all I have and realising that I am as worthwhile as anyone else

  23. Kathy Clark
    18th November 2017 / 6:07 pm

    Clearing out my home of unwanted items

  24. Winsome Leung
    17th November 2017 / 11:29 pm

    My best tip for boosting self-esteem and confidence is throwing yourself into the deep end and conquering your fears. Sure life has thrown me curveballs and scarred me when my long-term relationship broke down. But I’ve learnt much more about myself during the few years when I was single than I ever did whilst partnered. I had time to work hard in my career, on self-improvement and discovering my passions.
    My greatest fear was public speaking. So I joined Toastmasters and stood up in front of groups and spoke. It’s actually a lot of fun with impromptu speeches being the most nerve-wrecking as they give you a random topic like ‘nepotism’ and you had to speak a whole minute about it without preparation time. Conquering my fear of speaking gave me a humungous dose of self-confidence. If I could do this without fear then I felt like I could overcome anything. It was the best feeling.
    Most of us will get internal scars – those we can heal with time and effort on our part. With physical scars, we have Dermascar. I’ve used it too: as my skin is prone to keloid formation. After my Caesarean section earlier this year, because of using the skin healing gel, my surgical scar have healed with minimal redness and itchiness. Can’t be happier with the results.

  25. Indika Wijayasekera
    17th November 2017 / 11:05 pm

    CULTIVATING SELF LOVE- taking good care of your body,mind and spirit.Simple things you can do is meditation, exercise, good skin care routine (Use good quality products), affirmation and positive thinking.

  26. Bella Ri
    17th November 2017 / 9:00 pm

    Embrace all the features you are born with!

  27. Elly
    17th November 2017 / 6:47 pm

    Do things that are just for you, like exercise.

  28. Mel
    17th November 2017 / 3:31 pm

    You just have to focus on what you do have and not what you don’t

  29. Joanne Cardamone
    17th November 2017 / 2:41 pm

    I write affirmations in a notebook every day that are on repeat so that i believe in it the more i write it

  30. nicole larsen
    17th November 2017 / 2:08 pm

    Been around people that love and adore you

  31. Annie G.
    17th November 2017 / 7:24 am

    Celebrate often the “skin you’re in’ …positive outlook each day, thinking of at least one happy time. Many thanks for the excellent review of DermaScar. .. I’m thinking of having my porta-cath removed , post chemo, too. DermaScar is what i need to attack the scars left after a double mastectomy.

  32. Sonia Chang
    16th November 2017 / 12:59 pm

    There’s no better way to love yourself and spoiling yourself with kindness, like a piece of cake , indulgent spa and a luxurious facial experience. These are my favourite tips to boost my self-esteem and confidence. Let’s go all negative thoughts with meditation is also a great way to release negative feelings. This DermaScar Ultra Plus C&E +a $50 Westfield Gift Card would help me to remove some scars around my body and I would love to buy a delicious chocolate cake for my family. It’s truly a beautiful prize to share with those closest to you.

  33. Sarah
    16th November 2017 / 12:23 am

    Fantastic post!

  34. Tammerly Robinson
    15th November 2017 / 10:32 pm

    Let go of any insecurities – once you do you will become super confident, love yourself and see the beauty in every one else too!

  35. Megan Marot
    15th November 2017 / 10:16 pm

    Do something that makes you feel happy every day,
    Something that makes you feel worth it in every way.
    It could be exercise or a quick phone call with a friend,
    A shopping trip or reading a book to the very end,
    Singing along to your favourite song,
    Reminding yourself that you are strong.
    Being mindful of your happiness is key,
    Boosting self esteem and confidence guaranteed.

  36. jane gardam
    15th November 2017 / 9:00 pm

    Don’t compare yourself to other people or you will be forever trying to keep up and waste a lot of energy. Surround yourself with your friends and family that love you just the way you are. You are unique and we are all different. Focus on your positives and treat yourself nicely, mentally and physically.

  37. Lindsay
    15th November 2017 / 8:46 pm

    Wow, I’m so glad I read this about this product. I suffered from adult acne which left noticeable scars on my neck. I’m completely self conscious of it and hardly ever will wear my hair up. I’m willing to give anything a go to help my confidence. Thanks Mim!! ?

  38. gail davies
    15th November 2017 / 8:35 am

    My best tip for improving self-esteem and confidence is to not worry about small unnecessary things which improves my well being which in turn helps me feel happy and confident ,,,

  39. Jessica
    15th November 2017 / 12:05 am

    I try to remember that I am more than my body. My body is an instrument, not an ornament and doesn’t define my worth or my talent, or what I can give to others. I try to be compassionate with myself and treat myself kindly. It’s hard at times to do this, and I often fall into comparisons with others, but I’m going gently – it’s a journey and it’s ok for this self-confidence thing to develop slowly and surely.

  40. LAuren Savige
    14th November 2017 / 11:41 pm

    Ironically I think going without makeup for a week can do wonders to boost your self esteem. I find without make up I am more confident and less worried about others opinions.

    Though my absolute favourite pick me up is a gentle reminder that my daughter thinks I am beautiful. If someone so innocent and sweet can think I am the most beautiful woman in the world then I must be :) it’s a really grounding experience closing your eyes and trying to see yourself as your child does. Scars bumps lumps and all

  41. Vanessa K
    14th November 2017 / 10:31 pm

    I feel confident when I know I do my best, thinking positively, and just be myself !

  42. Elahe
    14th November 2017 / 9:42 pm

    Whenever I am feeling down or just upset with myself, I make a list of all the positive things I admire about myself. It sounds simple and cheesy but it really makes a huge difference. We tend to overlook a lot of the small things about ourselves and only focus on the bigger things. Nevertheless, the qualities and characteristics that we possess are what make us unique and even just reading about it on a piece of paper puts everything into perspective and can really lift our mood!

  43. 14th November 2017 / 9:35 pm

    Becoming aware of how you are feeling and allowing the feeling without judgement is very healing. Accepting that we are all flawed and finding out own way in the world. People don’t really notice as much about us as we think they do.

  44. 14th November 2017 / 7:45 pm

    Spend more time with supportive and positive people. I love this quote by Robert Tew “Don’t let negative and toxic people rent space in your head. raise the rent and kick them out!”

  45. Sharon Johnson
    14th November 2017 / 7:17 pm

    Love to give back to the community anyway I can, Share a walk with others to boost moral and be positive wherever I go.

  46. Teena L
    14th November 2017 / 3:06 pm

    Don’t worry about what others think of you, and get fit, its amazing how focused your mind and body can become once you start :)

  47. Chris
    14th November 2017 / 1:47 pm

    Wake up each day with a determination to believe in yourself and everything you do.

  48. Angela M
    14th November 2017 / 1:13 pm

    Focus on what you can do, instead of what you cannot do!

  49. Heidi O'Day
    14th November 2017 / 11:48 am

    Don’t compare yourself to anyone. Their is only one of you and you were made with all your flaws just like everyone else. Give yourself a break and a mental hug! Love yourself.

  50. Laura Power
    14th November 2017 / 8:03 am

    Just be happy with who you are don’t worry about everyone else

  51. Kayla Sibley
    14th November 2017 / 4:07 am

    My best tip is not to care so much what people think of you & don’t worry about the little things

  52. Michelle
    13th November 2017 / 11:01 pm

    Having lots of good people around you that support you.

    • Heidi O'Day
      14th November 2017 / 11:53 am

      That can be hard for some people I know, but never give up looking for those people. Beautiful comment. It took me a very long time to feel supported, now I am and thank the universe every day.

  53. Jules
    13th November 2017 / 10:05 pm

    Long D&Ms with husband or best friends!

    I have a keloid scar on my chest too so I know what you’re going through! I’ve had mine for over 10 years now and nothing has helped. I’ll definitely look into Dermascar!

  54. JenJen
    13th November 2017 / 9:48 pm

    Get out of the house and catch up with friends and do something that makes you feel good…whether it be shopping, a massage, a workout etc.

  55. Dianne
    13th November 2017 / 4:34 pm

    A friend printed a yellow smiley face and stuck it on the back of their front door – it’s amazing that pretty much everyone who sees it smiles and leaves feeling good about themselves and who they will encounter. I’m going to do that for us this Christmas :)

  56. Ra Jakobasch
    13th November 2017 / 11:54 am

    Getting a spray tan always gives me a confidence boost :)

  57. 13th November 2017 / 10:57 am

    I find a bit of shopping does the trick I always feel so much better after that

  58. Paula H
    13th November 2017 / 8:57 am

    Sometimes people who are closest to you can strip away your confidence, happiness and self-love. Remove toxic people from your life :(

  59. Maree Gray
    13th November 2017 / 6:20 am

    Think positive thoughts and learn to love yourself. Once you feel comfortable and at peace with yourself there will be no stopping you.

  60. Phillip Cunningham
    12th November 2017 / 9:20 pm

    Stop telling yourself you’re no good, for it might end up with you believing it, even though it’s not true. Think positive thoughts instead. Look for ways that show yourself and others that you are good.

  61. sharon mclean
    12th November 2017 / 8:14 pm

    Remind yourself self daily that your worth it

  62. 12th November 2017 / 7:43 pm

    feel happy and postive everyday if you feel down do something you love to reboot and energize yourself .Keep loved ones around you and be grateful for what life brings to you .

  63. Kasey Evans
    12th November 2017 / 5:48 pm

    Learn to love yourself and accept yourself just the way you are. Your unique and one of a kind which is beautiful in itself.

  64. Trudi Cullen
    12th November 2017 / 5:16 pm

    Surround yourself with decent people, praise yourself and don’t always try to seek praise. Lastly, you’ll find inner peace once you stop caring about what others think.

  65. Kate Slack
    12th November 2017 / 2:37 pm

    Talk to yourself like you would take to your friends, positively and complimentary, sometimes easier said than done but i try!

  66. Kim Morgan
    12th November 2017 / 1:29 pm

    Love yourself, scars, warts & all, these things all tell a story & make you unique! ♥️

  67. Erica
    12th November 2017 / 12:41 pm

    There’s a lot to be said for getting a new hair do! Even if it’s just a wash and blow dry, walking out of a salon and catching glimpses of your fancy hair works wonders for one’s self esteem. Sounds cheesy but it’s true.

  68. 12th November 2017 / 9:19 am

    I know it sounds a tad trite but keep life’s positives near and don’t allow negatives from others rule your life and emotions

  69. Karina Lee
    11th November 2017 / 10:13 pm

    Don’t focus on the negatives, try and think of all the good stuff that has happened otherwise the negativity will just drag you down and nothing will seem like it’s going right!

  70. Kylie T
    11th November 2017 / 8:30 pm

    Embrace uniqueness and individuality; one of a kind
    The things which tell a journey or story to remind
    It may be hard but some how we got through
    Show the fight, spirit & beauty that is – will always be YOU!

  71. tracy wedding
    11th November 2017 / 7:38 pm

    Just be you accept yourself and understand you are the best you that there is

  72. Veronique
    11th November 2017 / 6:54 pm

    Getting myself new makeup every now and then and staying fit helps me to gain confidence and good self esteem.

  73. Sheena
    11th November 2017 / 5:51 pm

    When you see something you like about someone compliment them. Boost people up and Never be somebody else’s bad day.

  74. Lesley
    11th November 2017 / 4:01 pm

    Surround yourself with positive people who love and support you just the way you are!

  75. Kaman Yu
    11th November 2017 / 3:44 pm

    Just smile and remember to love your imperfections as those that matter in your life won’t care about your imperfections. I don’t mind my son’s open heart surgery scar. It’s there as the surgery saved his life.

  76. Kerrie M
    11th November 2017 / 12:52 pm

    Always remember that a ‘perfect’ person is a boring person. We all have interesting ‘imperfections’ and what would we be without them. Embrace unique and find confidence!

  77. Gayle Vos
    11th November 2017 / 10:52 am

    Believe in yourself and don’t let others put you down or poo poo your ideas

  78. Rebecca Pattie
    11th November 2017 / 10:33 am

    looking in the mirror and telling myself my mumma bod is my best self

  79. Melissa K
    11th November 2017 / 7:53 am

    Wake each day feeling positive, a happy positive life will follow!

  80. Melissa K
    11th November 2017 / 7:50 am

    Wake each day with a positive attitude, which will lead to a positive life!

  81. Michelle (inthegoodbooksblog)
    11th November 2017 / 7:07 am

    For me, I surround myself with people that I feel comfortable with, and/or things that I feel comfortable doing.
    For example, when I am with my beautiful kids, I know that they aren’t noticing that I am not wearing designer brands, or that my hair is way overdue for a cut and colour.
    They simply enjoy my company, as I do theirs. It is lovely to just be myself. As I have an anxiety disorder, it isn’t easy at times to like myself, but I am determined, and I don’t give in easily. Doing things that make me happy (reading, cooking, gardening, etc) all help my self-esteem too.

  82. Kim
    11th November 2017 / 6:52 am

    Keep you head held high every day. Be proud of who you are scars and all

  83. Joy
    11th November 2017 / 6:47 am

    I wear lipstick, mum always said you’ll feel great if you apply lippy when you leave the house, she’s right.

  84. Louise
    10th November 2017 / 11:48 pm

    I’ve been sitting here for about 10 minutes trying to think of a witty or wise answer – yet I can’t. Positive self esteem and true confidence elude me. I wish I had answers to pass onto my own daughters. There are lots of superficial things that we can do, but doesn’t real confidence come with accepting oneself? So I suppose that is my best tip…………Accept that you are unique, flawed and perfect. :)

  85. CATHERINE PITT
    10th November 2017 / 11:41 pm

    Let your scars shine through
    strength and confidence comes from
    the light out of your scars.

  86. Charl
    10th November 2017 / 10:29 pm

    Give it time, one step at a time, believe in yourself. I’m finding the older I get the less I care about things that I’d be anxious about before!

  87. Ben T
    10th November 2017 / 9:42 pm

    Be who you are. You can only present one face to society, so it might as well be your true one. To try to be someone else is to wear a mask everyday, an exhasuting, soul-destroying mask.

  88. REBEKAH BALLINGALL
    10th November 2017 / 9:14 pm

    Believe in yourself, give yourself self praise and don’t wait for someone else to

  89. Chloe
    10th November 2017 / 8:40 pm

    Find a form of exercise you truly enjoy! Keeping my mind and body active helps me feel like my best self –
    peaceful, happy and confident

  90. Tracy Mackay
    10th November 2017 / 7:10 pm

    Don’t be scared to have a go at different things, you might surprise yourself which in turn builds confidence . Look in the mirror and say to yourself “I’ve got this, or I can do this”. Don’t worry about what others might think of you.

  91. Peta Newsome
    10th November 2017 / 4:40 pm

    Own your scars and “flaws”,
    they tell the story of your life.
    They are survivor brandings,
    they tell the world you won your fight.

  92. Zoe
    10th November 2017 / 3:05 pm

    I think sometimes you have to ‘fake it ’till you make it’. Chin up, shoulders back and say to yourself I will be confident. I find when I do that that I start to feel confident. It comes from within yourself. I have scarring on my arm which I used to feel awfully self-concious about and still do at times. But reminding myself to be confident definitely helps me through those times.

  93. Kathy Bowdlert
    10th November 2017 / 2:34 pm

    For many years I’ve been troubled with anxiety and little confidence, I think it’s all about taking little steps towards a bigger goal. Enrolling in a self improving course, volunteering, thinking positively, surrounding yourself in positive company all help in building a more confident you.

  94. Jade O
    10th November 2017 / 2:26 pm

    I find small things like a little retail therapy, a massage or makover a great way to make yourself feel good, even if it only lasts for a few hours. It’s a great boost

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.