Protect-a-Bed Mattress Protector Review + Giveaway worth $149.99

This Protect-a-Bed Mattress Protector review is in collaboration with Protect-a-Bed.

We’re about to start decorating both of our kids bedrooms (yay!) and they’re as excited as we are.

Both of their bedrooms are currently white boxes – as in, all of the walls are white. I love white walls in most of the rooms in the house but we do want to inject some colour into their rooms.

Child's bed

My daughter’s current bedroom :)

We’re pretty much sorted for furniture in my daughter’s bedroom and now she just needs to choose a colour scheme!

One thing we did decide was to get her a trundle bed for under her bed. That way, when we’re decorating each of their rooms, they can sleep in the other one. This one is just from eBay and cost about $70.

Miss got a new mattress recently but the fitted mattress protector we had was a pretty cheap one. Although it helped protect the mattress from general spills and stains, we wanted a better one.

Protect-a-Bed Mattress Protector and Protect-a-Bed Tencel Signature Pillow Protectors

Protect-a-Bed Mattress Protector and Protect-a-Bed Tencel Signature Pillow Protectors

We were kindly sent a Protect-a-Bed Tencel Signature Mattress Protector to fit her Single bed. I’d read so many glowing Protect-a-Bed reviews so we knew in advance the quality was going to be much better than the one we had.

Protect-a-Bed Mattress Protector Review

Both of my children suffer from occasional dry skin, particularly son. So I loved that the Protect a Bed Tencel range is approved by the Eczema Association as Sensitive Skin Tried and Tested.

When I took the queen mattress cover out of it’s packaging, the first thing I noticed was how soft and thick it is. Especially compared to the thin one we had before. It has a Miracle Layer™ that is waterproof and breathable.

Protect-a-Bed Mattress Protector

The Protect-a-Bed Tencel Mattress Protector

It’s added a lovely layer of cushioning to her bed and makes the mattress underneath feel even cosier. The mattress we have is a particularly deep on but this mattress protector fits over it easily without any pulling. So it makes changing her bed MUCH easier than before! Also when she moves around in the night, it stays put. It isn’t a waterproof mattress protector.

Protect-a-Bed Tencel Jacquard Mattress Protector

Protect-a-Bed Tencel Jacquard Mattress Protector

It can be machined washed and is safe to tumble dry too. Let’s face it, who has the time to hand wash anything, let alone a huge mattress protector. Not me!

Protect-a-Bed mattress protectors also protect from dust mites, mould and bacteria allergens.

Protect-a-Bed mattress protectors are available in Single, Extra Long Single, King Single, Double, Queen, King, Super King. So perfect for the whole family. It’s one of the best mattress protectors we’ve tried!ma

Protect-a-Bed Signature Series Pillow Protector

We also send a twin pack of these super soft pillow protectors. So handy as the kids can have one each!

Protect-a-Bed Signature Series Pillow Protector

Zipping up the Protect-a-Bed Signature Series Pillow Protector is super easy!

Again, the pillow protectors feature their Miracle Layer™ and they’re as cosy as the mattress protector is.

My daughter gets so hot in her sleep sometimes and this has been wonderful for protecting her pillow from getting wet or stained.

Protect-a-Bed Signature Series Pillow Protector

They’re very easy to slide a pillow into and zip closed.

My daughter loves the feel of her cosy new bed and we’re so excited to be decorating her room soon!

When my son’s room is decorated, we’re going to be moving him into a “big boy bed” – argh hello sleepless nights!! I’m hoping his extra cosy bed will entice him to stay in his bed once he doesn’t have the cot bars in his way anymore.

Find out more

Protect-A-Bed is committed to healthy sleep solutions and believes everyone deserves a great night’s sleep! Each available Protect-A-Bed range is approved by National Asthma Council Australia. Visit their website here for more info. You can also get Free Shipping with the code SYDNEYMUMS.

Giveaway Time!

I have a Protect-a-Bed Tencel Queen Mattress Protector in Queen size to giveaway to one lucky reader!

To enter to win this prize, worth $149.99, simply:

  1. Complete the Rafflecopter below.
  2. Like the Love from Mim Facebook Page.
  3. Follow me on Instagram.
  4. What is your best advice for getting a great night’s sleep? Scroll to the bottom of this page to where it says Leave a Reply.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Terms and Conditions

  1. Open to Australian residents only.
  2. You’re entering to win a Protect a Bed Queen size mattress cover.
  3. Giveaway closes on December 19th 2017.
  4. I will announce the winner here after December 20th 2017.
  5. Game of skill – be original or creative in your answer!

PIN THIS POST:

Protect-a-Bed Mattress Protector Review - Love from Mim

Disclosure: this Protect-a-Bed Mattress Protector Review is in collaboration with Protect-a-Bed.

Follow:
Share this post!

47 Comments

  1. Melinda
    12th December 2017 / 7:08 am

    I have an Epsom Salts bath and apply this goodmoodfood net au/product-page/gmf-sleep-sole-balm-glass-jar-120ml

  2. Bec Vogt
    11th December 2017 / 12:34 pm

    No caffinated drinks at least 4 hours before bed

    • Jane Whelan
      11th December 2017 / 9:20 pm

      Tire the kids out, fill up there days with activities. A nice hot bath, a bed time story and lights out and time to sleep.

  3. Catherine Hepburn
    11th December 2017 / 11:20 am

    A cup of chamomile tea before bed and a few sprigs of lavender flowers under your pillowcase works wonders.

  4. Katrina Heijstraten
    11th December 2017 / 2:21 am

    Kick the husband out to sleep with the toilet training 2 year old, and enjoy the quiet music of the snoring 11mo! I kid, sleep is a foreign word here.

  5. Anna
    10th December 2017 / 7:43 pm

    To get a good night’s sleep, try to avoid screen time right before bed! It’ll keep you awake!

  6. Kasey Evans
    10th December 2017 / 2:32 pm

    Making sure the temperature is right in the room otherwise you might feel too cold or hot.

  7. 10th December 2017 / 1:22 pm

    Lavender oil in the diffuser works wonders it relaxes us all takes stress away

  8. Elly Chen
    10th December 2017 / 10:51 am

    I love exercising during the day, I am so exhausted that I get such a great sleep.

  9. Tammerly Robinson
    9th December 2017 / 4:16 pm

    Try to keep to a reasonable bed time. For years I was insomniac and it was thanks to my own doing, staying up til 10.30/11pm. Now I get into bed at 9.30 and feel miles better for it.

  10. Eva Kiraly
    9th December 2017 / 12:33 pm

    I found a way to turn my head off, it stops me from rethinking, I just turn my mind blank and focus on a picture in my mind of a loved one.

  11. Rachel K
    9th December 2017 / 4:34 am

    Essential oils are indispensable. I use them on my pillow and throughout the night I breathe it in to soothe, and aid in sleeping, relieve congestion and also combat stale air.

  12. Jessica Clark
    9th December 2017 / 12:11 am

    Having lovely bedding gives that satisfied feeling when jumping into bed. Always keeps my dreaming positive and nightmares away.

  13. Rosalie Bernacki
    8th December 2017 / 9:11 pm

    Don’t sleep with a snorer – My hubby is snorer the explorer!!!!

  14. jocy
    8th December 2017 / 8:08 pm

    Shutting the door so no-one can get in!!

  15. 8th December 2017 / 5:15 pm

    Moving my newborn baby out of my bedroom and into her nursery was the best decision we made, she was waking every 2 hours and I was a walking zombie for months. She now ‘sleeps like a baby’ loves being in her own room and this tired Mumma is getting some big blocks of sleep!

  16. Laura Power
    8th December 2017 / 4:09 pm

    I always stick to a routine and don’t stay up late

  17. Mel
    8th December 2017 / 3:54 pm

    A glass of warm milk an hour before bed!

  18. Samara McRae
    8th December 2017 / 2:01 pm

    Have a shower or bath so you are nice and clean, diffuse some lavender or other sleep aid oils and have some relaxing downtime before bed.

  19. Lesley
    8th December 2017 / 1:48 pm

    A dark room, open windows and a tech free bedroom!

  20. Amanda S
    8th December 2017 / 1:40 pm

    Our sleep as a family only improved when I stopped trying to do things ‘by the book’ and started observing what my kids needed. So one goes to bed really late so he’s actually tired and the other gets cuddles as much she needs.

  21. Bianca Z
    8th December 2017 / 8:57 am

    Create a routine and repeat nightly, like storytime and cuddles before bed.

  22. Tracey
    8th December 2017 / 7:23 am

    Diffuse lavender oil every night, its magical, sleeping better then ever.

  23. Louise
    8th December 2017 / 12:32 am

    Don’t get overtired. Try to go to bed before your second wind kicks in :)

  24. Georgina
    7th December 2017 / 11:31 pm

    We don’t do evening showers or anything like that, but find it much easier to sleep after washing faces, necks and hands with a warm washcloth (cool weather) or a cool washcloth (hot weather) and sleeping with the ceiling fan on low to circulate the air. Nothing better than feeling fresh!

  25. Sarah Fleming
    7th December 2017 / 5:51 pm

    I am a terrible sleeper and it is only getting worse the older I get unfortunately. But my tip, for what they are worth, would first and foremost be no caffeine after dinnertime (not even a cup of tea….waaah). And preferably no chocolate or anything that could upset your stomach or induce heartburn. And of course no screentime right before bed, something I am terrible at admittedly!

  26. Gayle Vos
    7th December 2017 / 10:57 am

    Have the room as dark as possible, install block out blinds and you will have the best sleep, also don’t have your phone or laptop in your bedroom.

  27. sheree reardon
    7th December 2017 / 7:13 am

    Kid free = good night sleep 😂😂 no seriously I haven’t had one for 6yrs now since having my 3 darling children 😣 but my tips for the kids getting a good night sleep is don’t drink too much before bed as they’ll either wet the bed or need to get up to the toilet often, make sure they have a full tummy, not too hot or cold, a comforter & some time to wind down before bed with a good book

  28. Kristy Grey
    7th December 2017 / 1:26 am

    Having a comfortable mattress and pillow always helps me rest easier im currently unable to as my mattress is old and lumpy this would be amazing to win thankyou for the chance

  29. Karina Lee
    6th December 2017 / 11:17 pm

    Go for a swim. That is a guarantee way to make anyone have a good night sleep..including the kids!

  30. Stacey Shailer
    6th December 2017 / 9:02 pm

    I find sticking to a consistent bed time routine every night (cup of tea, shower, read for 10mins and then lights off) ensures a good nights sleep.

  31. 6th December 2017 / 9:00 pm

    I have a long hot shower and cup of camomile tea. Light reading and a spray of lavender

  32. Shannon
    6th December 2017 / 9:00 pm

    I try not to take my phone to bed. Leave it charging in the lounge room so I’m not tempted to check it. I find that helps me to switch off and get to sleep

  33. JenJen
    6th December 2017 / 8:10 pm

    With our 2yr old we have a bedtime routine, i’ve found sticking to that as much as possible he is more settled and less likely to wake…so we get a better night’s sleep too!

  34. tracy wedding
    6th December 2017 / 7:57 pm

    a good soft pillow and lavender Oil

  35. Catherine Moxon
    6th December 2017 / 5:30 pm

    If you go to bed with no expectations, then you feel even better when they actually do have a nice peaceful sleep right through.

  36. Jacky B
    6th December 2017 / 5:13 pm

    Try and have a routine, keep away from screens for a while before you go to bed and do deep breathing. Breathe in for a count of 3, hold for 4 and breathe out for 4, repeat.

  37. Tamara Robinson
    6th December 2017 / 4:50 pm

    I usually read my girls the standard 2 bedtime stories, then some nights we have a ‘shadow puppet show’ but our tip to getting a good nights rest is white noise for our girls to drift off to as it seems to allow them to go to bed not so restless. And then we chuck on the diffuser or a scented melt into the burner while we have our time doing everything that needs to be done before bed

  38. Lauren Hunt
    6th December 2017 / 4:28 pm

    Dashing through the house, with my earplugs in hand. I pull hubby outside whilst he’s sleeping so he can sleep outside with the dog. Hey! Reading bedroom stories in a funny voice, with lullabies on in the background, my son goes off to dreamland and I then sleep just fine. Yay! Sleep is great, sleep is great, sleep is great for us. If only my hubby would literally stay outside so I wouldn’t hear his snoring, my sleep would be even better….

  39. Kate Slack
    6th December 2017 / 3:44 pm

    A goodnight story always seems to make my kids sleepy.

  40. Kathy Clark
    6th December 2017 / 12:50 pm

    a drink of warm milk before bed

  41. sharyn williams
    5th December 2017 / 9:58 pm

    i am still trying to get one of my children to not wake during the night so i wish i had the answer but sleep has never come easy for her (or even me for that matter) – has to be a dark room and a comfortable pillow to have any chance to even get a half decent night sleep

  42. Ashleigh
    5th December 2017 / 9:23 pm

    Running lavender in my aroma bloom

  43. Kim Campbell
    5th December 2017 / 8:49 pm

    Stick to routine, usual bed toy, keep calm and stay strong, you may need a few nights even a week until is normal for your child.

  44. Amanda
    5th December 2017 / 8:01 pm

    This looks fab! We tried might time training but I was woken every night and had washing every morning. We’re having a break but I’ve been looking for a product like this before we try again!

  45. Dee margot
    5th December 2017 / 7:49 pm

    The best advice I was given was to get them involved in the purchase / assembly of the new bed and start them off in it during day naps. You need to pick a day when you have the time to hang about near their room so you can go put them back in bed when they get out. Basically pop them down with their usual sleep cues (toy / story etc..) and then lurk in the hallway or a nearby room until they get up, then repeat…over and over (the putting back not all the sleep cues!) the first time I did this with my son it took 10 put backs, by day two it was half this and within 4 days he had successfully transitioned to the big bed. He was under two though so I’m sure an older kid would do it even easier :) goodluck!

  46. Dianne
    5th December 2017 / 7:44 am

    I wish I knew Mim! I will revisit to see what works for others though!
    There are all the things like eat bananas, no electronics, dark environment, relax and unwind but unfortunately some night the only thing that definitely works for me is complete and utter exhaustion.

Leave a Reply